Life according to Al

Have you ever met someone that just tells it to you like it is? Not like a child telling you that you have toilet paper hanging from your skirt, or an editor telling you that the story you’ve poured your heart into writing isn’t at all what she is looking for. The kind of person I’m talking about is a guy like Al.

My family and I are fortunate to be traveling around the US right now. A few days ago we had the great pleasure of visiting a city I’ve always wanted to go to – New Orleans -and our timing couldn’t have been better. When we got there we found out it was The French Quarter Festival, which is like a smaller and all outside version of the famous Jazz Fest, with mostly local musicians. I highly recommend it if you’re ever headed to New Orleans in April. Anyway, since we’re driving an RV we had to get a cab from the campground into the city, and it was Al that picked us up. In a short 20 minute ride we got the history of New Orleans, the history of Al’s life, the history of the people of New Orleans, lessons on life and love, advice on how to embrace people and life, and a whole lot of positive goodness. I wanted Al to stay with us all day. I wanted to be part of Al’s family. I wanted to holler, “Amen to that!” By the time we reached our drop off spot, just beyond the infamous Bourbon Street, Al had burrowed a special place in my heart and I gave him a big hug. My whole family did.   So what specifically did Al tell us? (If only I had written it down! Left my notepad in the RV, silly me.)

“I’ve never had a bad day in my life.”

“I had brain surgery – my second one – in March and went straight home from the ICU. I feel smarter since then because they gave me extra brains!”

“People need to take life more seriously and realize how beautiful it is.”

“Love is all around, you just have to let it in.”

“Let life come to you and you’ll never be disappointed. Just let it happen.”

Thank you, Al, for starting our day off right and telling it like it is!

Life Lesson #4: When you feel discouraged and buried in the mire of it all, just put on Paul Simon’s album and sing at the top of your lungs, “You can call me Al!”

And what better to remind us of life’s goodness and beauty than this quote from Tinkertown, New Mexico…

Words to live by

Words to live by

2 thoughts on “Life according to Al

Leave a Reply

